Loading Events
Jess French author event profile image

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

Jess French Author Event

January 18 @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am

Virtual Event Virtual Event
£60.00

Details

Date:
January 18
Time:
9:30 am - 10:30 am
Cost:
£60.00
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Organizer

Heather

About Jess

Jess French has made a career of working with animals. She is a qualified veterinary surgeon with a first-class degree in zoology, a naturalist and entomologist. She is the author of over twenty books for children and the presenter of hit wildlife show Minibeast Adventures with Jess. She is also a regular contributor to radio and film. Jess spent much of her childhood adventuring outdoors, which inspired her love of nature and animals. She has worked all over the globe, including at a gibbon rescue centre in Thailand, a monkey sanctuary in Bolivia, a home for orphaned kangaroos in Australia and a dog shelter in India. She currently lives in Norfolk with her family.

Check out Jess’s Linktree: drjessfrench

Jess on Twitter (@Zoologist_Jess)

What to expect from the event

Creative character activity – during the event your class will take part in making their own magical beast!

Here’s the author with an introduction to the event to get your pupils excited about the event:

Focus Book

The session will be focused on Beastlands: Race to Frostfall Mountain (out 18 Jan 2024), The first instalment in an epic new fantasy adventure series for readers of DRAGON REALM, FIREBORN and SKANDAR AND THE UNICORN THIEF.

Beastlands: Race to Frostfall Mountain cover image by Jess French

Buy the book

If you’d like to buy the book for your school before or after the event, we offer a substantial discount on the RRP price. Please email [email protected] to order books. Orders received 7 days before the event will arrive in time for the event.

We can also offer this book at a discounted rate to families PLUS your school will also receive a 5% credit (based on the value of the books sold to families) towards any future book purchases made through Reading Rocks. To enquire about our family discounts email [email protected].

About the Book

Book title: Beastlands: Race to Frostfall Mountain

BEFORE THERE WERE PEOPLE, THERE WERE BEASTS . . .

The island of Ramoa was once luscious and populated with mighty beasts. Now though, it is home to barren and tamed cities, where nature is locked out and trouble is brewing.

When Kayla’s beloved animal companion, a rare winged pangron, is stolen, she’s determined to get him back. But to do so, she’ll have to leave her city and journey into the wild and forbidden Beastlands.

There, she meets Rustus, an exiled young warrior, and Alethea, a healer desperately seeking a cure for a mysterious disease. As their quests unite them, they’ll adventure across the lands they know so little about, leading them to discoveries both great and terrifying. Not least that the beasts they’ve always been taught to fear might not be so terrifying after all…

Publisher: Piccadilly Press

Piccadilly Press logo

 

Buy with your credits

Credit balance: 0

No credits? Subscribe to our Virtual Author Event subscription today and save £££s:

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

What happens next

  • Buy your tickets using one event credit. Not got a credit? Get yours by starting a virtual events subscription.
  • You’ll receive your tickets via email – they will include your zoom meeting link.
  • We’ll send you an event reminder nearer the time.
  • You’ll also be able to access the zoom meeting using the link on your ticket or from the event page from 15 mins before the event (for logged in ticket holders only).
  • Buy a copy of the book for your school before the event.
  • Allow parents to buy the book after the event (you’ll get a commission for each book sold).
  • We’ll send you hints and tips for getting the most out of your event subscription too – so watch out for that! Or view them here.