Loading Events
Helen Rutter author event profile image

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event

Helen Rutter Author Event

February 26 @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am

Virtual Event Virtual Event
£60.00

Details

Date:
February 26
Time:
9:30 am - 10:30 am
Cost:
£60.00
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Organizer

Heather

About Helen

Helen lives in the countryside just outside Sheffield with her comedian husband, kids and lovely dog Billy Whizz. When she is not tapping away in her writing room, she loves walking, playing board games and reading.

Before writing her first novel Helen wrote and performed her work on the stage and has even braved some stand up comedy. If you look hard you could even spot her in old episodes of Coronation Street, Holby City and many other TV staples including adverts, film and voice over.

Her first novel The Boy who made Everyone Laugh was shortlisted for The Costa Children’s Book Award, The Blue Peter Children’s Book Award and The Branford Boase Award. Reggie houser Has the Power is Helen’s fifth book.

Check out Helen’s website: helenrutter.com

Helen on Twitter (@HelenRutterUK)

Helen on Instagram (@helenrutteruk)

Helen on Facebook (@helenrutterwriter)

What to expect from the event

Talk, interactive mind games, reading and Q&A.

Focus Book

The session will be focused on Reggie Houser Has the Power, Helen’s fifth book, released 1st February 2024.

Reggie Houser HasThe Power cover image Helen Rutter author event book.jpg

Buy the book

If you’d like to buy the book for your school before or after the event, we offer a substantial discount on the RRP price. Please email [email protected] to order books. Orders received 7 days before the event will arrive in time for the event.

We can also offer this book at a discounted rate to families PLUS your school will also receive a 5% credit (based on the value of the books sold to families) towards any future book purchases made through Reading Rocks. To enquire about our family discounts email [email protected].

About the Book

Book title: Reggie Houser Has the Power

Reggie Houser has ADHD and struggles to make friends at school, plus his mum and teachers seem constantly weary about his erratic, high-energy ways. But when he sees a hypnotist perform on stage at the holiday park he visits, Reggie becomes obsessed with learning the skills of mind control – and he discovers he has an incredible talent for it! First of all he hypnotises the dog to think he’s a frog, then makes his headmaster cluck like a chicken in assembly in front of the whole school – but then a group of mean kids supposedly take him under their wing and make him use his hypnosis talents for bad: stealing a chocolate bar from a shop and escalating to a bigger theft. Reggie must decide to use his skills for good only and come to trust his own brain to make decisions.

packed with brilliant jokes and one-liners to make kids roar with laughter a book to encourage empathy and kindness in young readers Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson and Jenny Pearson.

Publisher: Scholastic Ltd

Scholastic logo

Buy with your credits

Credit balance: 0

No credits? Subscribe to our Virtual Author Event subscription today and save £££s:

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Helen Rutter Author Event
Purchase ticket with one credit for Virtual Author Event subscribers or £60 one off payment for schools without a subscription.
£ 60
0 available
Sold Out

What happens next

  • Buy your tickets using one event credit. Not got a credit? Get yours by starting a virtual events subscription.
  • You’ll receive your tickets via email – they will include your zoom meeting link.
  • We’ll send you an event reminder nearer the time.
  • You’ll also be able to access the zoom meeting using the link on your ticket or from the event page from 15 mins before the event (for logged in ticket holders only).
  • Buy a copy of the book for your school before the event.
  • Allow parents to buy the book after the event (you’ll get a commission for each book sold).
  • We’ll send you hints and tips for getting the most out of your event subscription too – so watch out for that! Or view them here.