Loading Events
J T Williams author event profile image

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event

J T Williams Author Event

February 26 @ 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Virtual Event Virtual Event
£60.00

Details

Date:
February 26
Time:
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Cost:
£60.00
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Organizer

Heather

About J T Williams

Passionate about history, J.T. Williams writes to shine a light on the lives and stories of Black people in Britain. Her historical mystery series The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries is based on real-life historical figures Elizbeth Sancho and Dido Belle, who lived in Georgian London. The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, and is Winner of The Week Junior Children’s Book of the Year (Breakthrough) and Winner of The Diverse Book Awards (Children’s).

J T Williams on Twitter (@OjiBrown73)

J T Williams on Instagram (@j.t.williamswrites)

What to expect from the event

Attention all bookworms! Get ready to crack open ‘The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger’ as J T Williams takes you on a thrilling journey through the tales of the intriguing real-life people that inspired her to write this page-turner.

But wait, there’s more! As we explore the stories of real-life heroes, we’ll be asking some big questions: who really gets to write history? Whose voices have been left out of the pages of time? And, most importantly, how can we become history detectives and unearth the secrets of our past? Get ready to put on your thinking caps, folks!

Here’s an introduction from the author to get your class excited about the event:

J T Williams Video

Focus Book

The session will be focused on The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger, part of The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries series: A thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven’s Murder Most Unladylike. Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton and inspired by real Black British historical figures.

Released in 2022, the book was:

WINNER OF THE WEEK JUNIOR CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE YEAR: BREAKTHROUGH AWARD

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES 2023 CHILDREN’S BOOK PRIZE

WINNER OF THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARD FOR CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE YEAR

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries - Drama and Danger by TJ Williams cover image

Buy the book

If you’d like to buy the book for your school before or after the event, we offer a substantial discount on the RRP price. Please email [email protected] to order books. Orders received 7 days before the event will arrive in time for the event.

We can also offer this book at a discounted rate to families PLUS your school will also receive a 5% credit (based on the value of the books sold to families) towards any future book purchases made through Reading Rocks. To enquire about our family discounts email [email protected].

About the Book

Book title: The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger

Illustrator: Simone Douglas

Twelve-year-olds Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle are from different worlds – Lizzie lives in Westminster in her dad’s tea shop, while Belle is an heiress being brought up by her aunt and uncle at grand Kenwood House – but they both share a love of solving mysteries.

And when their eyes meet in the audience of the Drury Lane theatre one night, both girls are sure they’ve seen something suspicious on stage.

Lizzie and Belle soon find themselves on the trail of a mystery – and becoming best friends. But can they work out what’s going on in time to prevent a murder?

A mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens.

Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers

harper collins publishers logo

Buy with your credits

Credit balance: 0

No credits? Subscribe to our Virtual Author Event subscription today and save £££s:

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
J T Williams Author Event
Purchase ticket with one credit for Virtual Author Event subscribers or £60 one off payment for schools without a subscription.
£ 60
29 available

What happens next

  • Buy your tickets using one event credit. Not got a credit? Get yours by starting a virtual events subscription.
  • You’ll receive your tickets via email – they will include your zoom meeting link.
  • We’ll send you an event reminder nearer the time.
  • You’ll also be able to access the zoom meeting using the link on your ticket or from the event page from 15 mins before the event (for logged in ticket holders only).
  • Buy a copy of the book for your school before the event.
  • Allow parents to buy the book after the event (you’ll get a commission for each book sold).
  • We’ll send you hints and tips for getting the most out of your event subscription too – so watch out for that! Or view them here.